Skip to content
Valheim world disk and Tiwaz rune emblem
Valheim Map Wiki 1.0 Deep North

Valheim 1.0 New Weapons: All 40+ Deep North Gear & Stats

Valheim 1.0 adds 40+ new weapons across the Nord, Frostfire and Thunderblood series, plus four staves and four shields. Full named list and crafting chain.

Gameplay Clip
Action: Official Valheim 1.0 gameplay clip featuring the warrior loadout in the stone citadel, showing 1.0 weaponry and armor.
Quick Answer Valheim 1.0 · community reference

Valheim 1.0 introduces 40+ new weapons across Nord, Frostfire, and Thunderblood tiers, featuring 12 weapon classes, four elemental staves, and four shields crafted using Deep North Moulds, Bloodgold, and the Frost Foundry.

Valheim 1.0 (the Deep North update, released 9 September 2026) is the game’s full launch, and the headline addition for fighters is a large new weapon roster. Iron Gate’s official patch notes confirm 40+ new weapons, and they name every one of them. This guide documents the complete confirmed list and explains - with clear sourcing - how the new Deep North crafting chain is understood to work, while flagging exactly what the developer has and has not published.

If you are planning a Deep North run, pair this page with the Deep North biome & Kall Fimbulbringer boss guide and the 1.0 console commands list if you want to spawn-test any weapon.

Official in-game screenshot of a Valheim forge interior with weapons on racks
Official in-game screenshot: a Valheim forge interior with weapons racked and hung.

Three Series: Nord, Frostfire, Thunderblood

The official 1.0 patch notes group the new melee and ranged weapons into three named series. Each series contains the same 12 weapon types, which means the roster covers essentially every familiar Valheim weapon class at the new endgame tier:

Weapon TypeNordFrostfireThunderblood
SwordNord SwordFrostfire SwordThunderblood Sword
GreatswordNord GreatswordFrostfire GreatswordThunderblood Greatsword
AtgeirNord AtgeirFrostfire AtgeirThunderblood Atgeir
MaceNord MaceFrostfire MaceThunderblood Mace
SledgeNord SledgeFrostfire SledgeThunderblood Sledge
AxeNord AxeFrostfire AxeThunderblood Axe
GreataxeNord GreataxeFrostfire GreataxeThunderblood Greataxe
SpearNord SpearFrostfire SpearThunderblood Spear
DaggerNord DaggerFrostfire DaggerThunderblood Dagger
KnucklechainsNord KnucklechainsFrostfire KnucklechainsThunderblood Knucklechains
BowNord BowFrostfire BowThunderblood Bow
CrossbowNord CrossbowFrostfire CrossbowThunderblood Crossbow

That is 36 named weapons across the three series. The official notes confirm “40+ new weapons” in total, and the remaining confirmed entries are the staves and shields listed below.

Weapon Class Tactical Comparison & Archetype Roles

Each weapon type fulfills a specific combat role in Valheim’s tactical stamina system. Below is a structured comparison of how the 12 classes operate:

Weapon ClassConfirmed 1.0 EntriesPrimary Damage ArchetypeTactical Role & Combat MechanicsSecondary Attack Profile
SwordNord, Frostfire, ThunderbloodSlashBalanced single-target DPS, agile stamina recovery, wide horizontal arcsForward piercing thrust with high stagger bonus
GreatswordNord, Frostfire, ThunderbloodSlash / CleaveSweeping 2-handed frontal cleave, ideal for mowing down multiple pack enemiesOverhead vertical execution slam
AtgeirNord, Frostfire, ThunderbloodPierceExtended spear-axe reach, devastating front thrusts that space aggressive mobsSweeping spin attack with massive stagger bonus
MaceNord, Frostfire, ThunderbloodBluntHeavy impact damage, counters skeletal and armored beasts vulnerable to bluntCrushing upward uppercut with high stagger bonus
SledgeNord, Frostfire, ThunderbloodBlunt / AoE2-handed ground-slam warhammer; creates shockwaves damaging groups through wallsHeavy radial ground quake with extreme knockback
AxeNord, Frostfire, ThunderbloodSlashDual utility tool: woodcutting and reliable close-quarters chopping combosHigh-angle chop to break shields
GreataxeNord, Frostfire, ThunderbloodSlash / HeavyHeavy 2-handed cleaver delivering punishing chopping combos across wide arcsSweeping horizontal cleave through frontal cones
SpearNord, Frostfire, ThunderbloodPierceRapid frontline stabbing with minimal stamina cost and low hitbox delayRanged overhand spear throw for rapid initiation
DaggerNord, Frostfire, ThunderbloodSlash / PierceUltra-low stamina consumption, swift combo flurries, high backstab stealth bonusLong-distance flying leap thrust for surprise ambushes
KnucklechainsNord, Frostfire, ThunderbloodBlunt / Brawler1.0 brawling weapon class; rapid-fire strikes allowing continuous aggressive pressureRapid dual-fist cross-combo strike
BowNord, Frostfire, ThunderbloodPierce / ElementalPrecision ranged fire, fires standard and newly added Bloodgold ArrowsCharged arrow draw for maximum trajectory velocity
CrossbowNord, Frostfire, ThunderbloodPierce / HeavyHigh-velocity direct-line bolts; pre-loaded shot allows instant burst on sightingHigh-impact bolt firing, stationary reload step

Staves and Shields

Alongside the three melee and ranged series, the patch notes confirm four new staves and four new shields:

CategoryConfirmed NamesCore Specialization
StavesEcho Spike, Spirit Caller, Northern Vengeance, Lightning StrikeElemental and summon magic consuming Refined Eitr
ShieldsNord Buckler, Nord Shield, Nord Greatshield, Shield of RootsMelee defense spanning parry counters to heavy tower blocking

The notes also list new Bloodgold ammunition (Bloodgold Arrow, Bloodgold Bolt, Bloodgold Missile, and Bloodgold Payload), which pairs with the new bows, crossbows, and missile weapons.

The Four New Staves (Community-Reported)

Iron Gate confirms the four staves exist but does not describe what they do in the patch notes. Community guides describe their effects as follows (treat these as community-reported and verify in-game):

Staff NameCast Type & Mana ProfileReported Effect & Combat MechanicsTactical Best Use
Echo SpikeDirect Eitr projectileLaunches a frozen ice-shard projectile that bursts on impact, slowing enemy advanceRanged kite against fast predatory beasts
Spirit CallerConjuration / MinionSummons a spectral ally (Ghost Wolf, Bear, or Moose) to engage enemies and hold aggroSolo survivability; distracting bosses or dungeon swarms
Northern VengeanceAbjuration / BarrierCreates a reactive ward of protective frost; melee attacks striking the barrier reflect damage backClose-range defense when surrounded by heavy melee
Lightning StrikeTargeted AoE ShockCalls a thunderous lightning bolt from the sky onto targeted coordinates, dealing area shockBusting clustered fortifications or dense dungeon packs

These are the only new magic weapons in the update and are distinct from the Nord, Frostfire, and Thunderblood melee and ranged lines above.

The Four New Shields & Defensive Profiles

Defensive setups in Valheim 1.0 depend heavily on your chosen shield architecture:

Shield NameShield ClassDefensive PlaystyleParry Multiplier Profile
Nord BucklerSmall Round BucklerHigh-skill timed parry playstyle; rewards perfect deflection timing with massive stunHigh parry multiplier (rewards timed blocks)
Nord ShieldMedium Round ShieldBalanced mobile defense; moderate block value with manageable movement speed penaltyStandard parry window
Nord GreatshieldHeavy Tower ShieldMaximum passive block armor; absorbs colossal single hits without requiring timingNo parry; pure impenetrable frontal block absorption
Shield of RootsSpecialized Ward ShieldOrganic woven root construction; specialized defensive resistancesBalanced utility parry profile

How the Deep North Weapon Crafting Works

Iron Gate’s patch notes confirm the ingredients and stations that exist in 1.0: Moulds & Casts, Bloodgold, Frostfire Essence, Thunderblood Essence, Liquid Frost, the Frigid Kiln, the Frost Foundry, and a Smith’s Aprons Black Forge extension. What the notes do not do is walk through the assembly order step by step. Multiple community guides (Sportskeeda, All Things How, VG Times, SportsRant) describe the same pipeline, so we present it here as community-reported:

  1. Find a weapon Mould inside the Winding Tunnels dungeons of the Deep North.
  2. Make a Cast at an upgraded Black Forge (Level 4) using the Mould, Bloodgold, and any extra materials the recipe calls for.
  3. Finish the Cast by placing it in the Frost Foundry and adding Liquid Frost (produced at the Frigid Kiln from Ice).
  4. Collect the finished weapon.

On top of the base Nord line, the same guides describe Frostfire and Thunderblood as elemental variants made by infusing a Nord weapon with Frostfire Essence or Thunderblood Essence. Those essences are reported to drop from a ritual at an Ancient Altar that consumes Memorial Coal. Because this base-and-infusion relationship is described by community write-ups rather than stated verbatim in Iron Gate’s notes, treat it as community-reported until verified in-game.

For the material half of this chain - where Bloodgold, Frostcore, Timberwood, Moose Hide, and Seal Pelt actually come from - see our companion guide on Valheim 1.0 new materials.

What Iron Gate Has NOT Published

This site enforces a strict no-fabrication rule, so the following are deliberately not stated as facts anywhere above:

If you want to experiment safely, the 1.0 console commands guide covers the devcommands that let you spawn items for testing without affecting achievements on a throwaway world.

Companion Gear Added in 1.0 (Confirmed)

The same official patch notes that list the weapons also confirm a full set of companion gear, useful context for anyone building a Deep North loadout:

These are named directly in Iron Gate’s notes. Per-piece material costs and stat values are not published, so treat any specific numbers you see as unverified until confirmed in-game. For the material side of this gear, the Valheim 1.0 new materials guide covers what each piece consumes.

Reading the Three Series (Community-Reported)

Because Iron Gate lists all three series as standalone named weapons, the exact relationship between them is not stated in the official notes. Community guides (All Things How, Sportskeeda) describe a clear hierarchy that is community-reported:

This framing explains why the three series share identical weapon-type lists: each is the same twelve classes pushed down one of two elemental paths. None of these stat behaviours are published by Iron Gate, so treat them as community-reported until you confirm them in-game, and use the 1.0 console commands guide to spawn-test on a throwaway world.

FAQ

The questions above cover the most common searches. In short: Valheim 1.0’s new weapons are a confirmed, fully named roster of 36 series weapons plus staves and shields, built through the Deep North’s Mould-and-Foundry crafting chain. The developer-published facts stop at the part list - the step-by-step assembly and all stat numbers come from the community and should be verified in-game.

Frequently Answered Questions

How many new weapons does Valheim 1.0 add?

Iron Gate's official 1.0 patch notes state the update adds 40+ new weapons. The confirmed named list is 36 weapons across the Nord, Frostfire, and Thunderblood series (12 weapon types each), plus four staves and four shields.

What are the three Valheim 1.0 weapon series?

The three series are Nord, Frostfire, and Thunderblood. Each contains the same 12 weapon types: sword, greatsword, atgeir, mace, sledge, axe, greataxe, spear, dagger, knucklechains, bow, and crossbow.

How do you craft the new Deep North weapons?

The official notes confirm the materials and stations (Moulds, Bloodgold, Frost Foundry, Frigid Kiln, Liquid Frost). Community guides describe the flow as: find a weapon Mould in Winding Tunnels, turn it into a Cast at an upgraded Black Forge using Bloodgold, then finish it in the Frost Foundry with Liquid Frost. Treat the step-by-step as community-reported.

Are Frostfire and Thunderblood separate weapons or upgrades?

Iron Gate lists them as their own named weapons in the patch notes. Multiple community guides describe them as elemental infusions of the base Nord weapons, made using Frostfire Essence or Thunderblood Essence from an Ancient Altar ritual. This relationship is community-reported, not stated verbatim in the official notes.

Where can I see weapon damage numbers for 1.0 weapons?

Iron Gate has not published per-weapon damage or stat values for the 1.0 weapons. Any specific numbers you see come from community datamines and vary by upgrade level, so they should be treated as unverified estimates.